Web
Analytics Made Easy - StatCounter
Neoshadow99

[Minor Story Spoilers] Sleeping Worlds in Dream Drop Distance

Hey everyone, I have a burning question about how Dream Worlds work in DDD.  This is my first time playing the game, though I did watch a playthrough of the original version years ago.  While I do understand the story to a point, I do not understand how Traverse Town in particular is in a state of sleep.  I do not recall Traverse Town ever succumbing to the darkness.  In fact, isn't it supposed to be a refuge/sanctuary world for people who have been displaced? 

I remember it being stated in KH1 that TT consists of fragments of worlds that were lost to the darkness.  At what point did TT itself become consumed by the Heartless?  If I remember correctly, the Sleeping Worlds were once consumed by darkness, but were subsequently restored by Sora and his friends during their journey.  Gah, this game is already confusing me, and I've only just begun!

If you watch the flashbacks, you'll get it.

Like Yen Sid said some worlds never returned completely. Traverse Town is one of them. Like you said, it never completely succumbed to darkness, so why do we see the parts of the world that were safe? This is explained later in Prankster's Paradise.

A sleeping world is capable of filling the missing gaps. So the First, Second and Third Districts in the TT of DDD aren't real. Just part of the world's dream.

In fact, isn't it supposed to be a refuge/sanctuary world for people who have been displaced? 

You answered your own question. Traverse Town was there in the realm of sleep, so that it can help the TWEWY characters.